Tymado Multimedia Solutions | Shame on Hideaway Country Inn – Help me take action!
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-143,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-theme-ver-7.5,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.5.3,vc_responsive

Shame on Hideaway Country Inn – Help me take action!

My Sick Child

22 May Shame on Hideaway Country Inn – Help me take action!

Find out how plans for a relaxing getaway with my husband turned into a stressful cancelation, lost deposit and a public relations problem for Hideaway Country Inn.

The Story

I was looking forward to a luxurious three-day weekend at an inviting inn, filled with spa sessions, a private dinner and a few days away from the kids. My husband wanted to surprise me for our anniversary, but he has a tendency to give me presents weeks ahead of time.

Savannah in the hospitalUnfortunately, last Wednesday, our 15-month-old daughter was rushed to the hospital. She had a 40 minute seizure and then endured a terrifying week in the hospital with a stay in the PICU due to septic shock and pneumonia.

In the midst of the chaos, I called the inn to let them know we would have to cancel. At the time, we didn’t know whether it would be days, weeks or even months. Let alone, when we would actually be ready to leave our baby again. I figured cancelling as soon as possible would be one less thing to worry about.

I briefly told the receptionist who answered the phone how our daughter was in ICU and we would have to cancel. She asked me to hold for the manager. When the manager answered, I explained again. She said she was sorry to hear that, but let me know a couple times that we would have to reschedule or lose our deposit because of the policy. I said I understand policy, but certainly there are exceptions such as when your child is facing a life-threatening emergency.  I asked if there was anyone else I could talk to and she said I could leave my name and number for the owner but she would say the same thing. I left my name and number, anyway.

I didn’t receive a call from the owner, so I called again the next day. The person on the other end said the owner didn’t deal with this kind of thing on the weekends, so I’d have to call on Monday. I left my name and number again.

I didn’t get a call all day Monday, so I called again at 3:00 p.m. The owner was apparently in meetings all day. I left my number again.

It’s been 5 days since I left my first message. Our trip was scheduled for this Friday. Due to the lack of response, I’ve decided to take an alternative action.

Taking Action, But I Need Your Help

While I’m not a vengeful person, I would like to let others know about the type of company Hideaway Country Inn is. For a company whose motto is “It’s a relaxing day at the Hideaway Country Inn,” they have done nothing to relieve my stress.

Here’s what I’m asking…

Until Hideaway Country Inn assures potential customers that they really do care about helping people relax, please help me do the following:

  1. Don’t stay at Hideaway Country Inn
  2. Call them to let them know that booking a stay is about the person, not just a policy
    Toll Free: 1-800-570-8233
    Local: 419-562-3013
  3. Post messages on their Facebook page to let them know that people want to stay at a place that actually cares about them
  4. Tweet that a bed and breakfast is about customer service
  5. Feel free to come up with another creative way to let them know that there are many choices for weekend getaways

I posted a comment on their Facebook page already.

The Lesson

We didn’t need to get this far. If the manager had the proper authority and training, she could have let me know how I was important to them. She might have said that she didn’t want me to worry about this right now and she would call me back in a month to see if we might want to reschedule because we would need to de-stress after this experience. It would have been a win-win for everyone.

Even after the first phone call, I was hoping the owner would call and diffuse the situation. I’m sure people have a million reasons for cancelling and they all want their money back. However, businesses should have the flexibility to respond to different situations.

We live in an age of rapid, real-time communication. Your average customer can create business or a PR problem.

Hideaway Country Inn might have made an advocate out of me. This might have been a post to the couple hundred people who followed Savannah’s progress about how Hideaway Country Inn was understanding and sympathetic to our situation. They might have kept our business and gained new business.

Instead, I wrote this post. Now help me take action!

  • Victoria K. Hensley
    Posted at 08:22h, 23 May Reply

    We received a gift certificate from a family member for a 2 night stay in a specific suite at Hideaway Country Inn plus money toward dinner. After calling to schedule a reservation with Debbie Miller the owner, she refused to honor our gift certificate for a weekend date unless we paid a $180.00 up charge. She was rude and hung up the phone on us when we clearly pointed out that there were no weekend exclusions printed on the gift certificate! She then offered a $220.00 less expensive suite for a weekend, which we declined. This company uses bait-and-switch tactics, beware. After numerous attempts to get a refund for the gift certificate from Debbie, we filed a Small Claims lawsuit in Crawford County Ohio. One week prior to our court date, Debbie refunded the cost of the gift certificate, but has yet to reimburse our $65.00 court costs. Please check public records, the better business bureau’s C rating and other reviews prior to making your reservation. Buyer beware.

    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 11:37h, 23 May Reply

      Thank you for your comment Victoria!

  • Nick Beasley
    Posted at 10:04h, 23 May Reply

    Hi Amanada,

    Sorry to hear about this horrible situation on top of the stress you guys went through. I left a post on their facebook and my wife has tons of family up in that area that we will be relaying the info to.

    Take care,

    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 20:17h, 24 May Reply

      Thanks Nick! I really appreciate your support!

  • Megan
    Posted at 13:33h, 23 May Reply

    I have read you blog, and find it horrible what they are doing. I tried to find their Facebook page, but not much looking, I can’t find it.

    Either they have disabled the page or removed it all together because of the outrage from the community all over the county.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family and I only pray for a quick recovery and healthy happy child.

    Best Wishes,


    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 13:52h, 24 May Reply

      Thank you Megan! It does look like they removed their Facebook page, at least temporarily. Fortunately, my baby is doing much better now. We have a follow doctor appointment in an hour and one with the neurologist in August. I feel very blessed that so many people prayed and supported us during this time.

      Thank you so much!

  • danica smith
    Posted at 21:07h, 23 May Reply

    Wow! Really?! You’re not vengeful??? Don’t you think this is above and beyond vengeful! Being this nasty towards others isn’t going to get you anywhere in life…apparently. Very sorry for your stressful and horrible situation, but I don’t think doing all this nasty stuff you andother people are doing are examples of what you expect this woman to do for you! Kindness? Understanding? Sympathy? Maybe if you took a different approach you could have been more pleased. I have personally stayed at this b&b many times and I can tell you thatthe staff AND owner are the epitome of excellence!Also, I read your article on how to complain to get what you want’ and it looks as though, you might try and take advantage of lots of different small business owners! How bout “shame on you”! Really?! Lesson of this article….’KARMA’!!

    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 14:10h, 24 May Reply


      Again, I’m sorry it took so long to post your comment. I’m also sorry that I come across as vengeful. I really think I can help this business. They can learn from this and respond to people whether they agree or not in a professional, positive manner. I didn’t receive any response.

      I called the inn on Friday, May 17 at 2:13 PM. I spoke to the receptionist and manager and left my name and number for the owner. I was on the phone for 5 minutes. I called back again on Saturday at 3:41 P.M. I was told the owner doesn’t deal with these things on the weekend. I left my name and number again. I was on the phone for 2 minutes. I called again on Monday, May 20 at 3:07 P.M. I was told that the owner was in meetings all day. I said to the staff member that I didn’t want to appear as vengeful, but if the owner didn’t return my call, I would be forced to take other actions. I was on the phone for 1 minute. So, on Wednesday, May 22 at 11:29 a.m. I posted this and wrote a comment on their Facebook page and mine. Not only did they delete my post, they still didn’t contact me in any manner.

      I’m sure this would have been a nice place to stay. I was really looking forward to it. Unfortunately, God had other plans. What is more upsetting about this is that the inn has told people I lied, that I made up the story that I called and cursed at them and tried to blackmail them. They said they tried to call me and I didn’t answer. I am happy to share my phone records that show I never received a phone call and I spent a total of 8 minutes on the phone with them until yesterday. Each time, leaving my name and number, hardly time to do all the things they say I did. I talked to them for 12 minutes yesterday after I called, once again, to resolve the situation. I have that call recorded if anyone is interested.

      I have never once said anything that is false. I have also never complained about another business before. I know how, it’s been part of my job for some time. I had hoped I would never have the need to complain so publicly. But this time, I felt the need. I hope this helps the B&B in the future.

  • Macie Stevens
    Posted at 23:18h, 23 May Reply

    I’m Sorry to hear about you child. I will keep you and your family in my prayers. You say your not vengeful, but you still have your website smearing the businesses’ name. Just don’t sound right how in the world do you have time to blog when you child is in the hospital. You should be worried about your child instead of blogging about this.
    We all know that when we purchase something that there are return policy’s. So what I can not figure out is why are you doing this to a business that is just following there policy’s. Obviously you and your family and of course friends must do this often cause you have the nerve to tell people how to get free stuff from other companies. How would you feel if someone did that to your husbands company? Karma isn’t very nice when she comes around. I know you more than likely will not post this but at least I got to speak my mind.

    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 13:45h, 24 May Reply

      I’m happy to post this comment. I have nothing to hide. It is because my child was in the hospital and sleeping for the better part of a week that I had time to think about this and eventually post this article.

      First of all, my husband and I were never made aware of their policy until I called them for the fourth time yesterday. I still have not seen the policy in writing. Irregardless of the policy, their Facebook page (before they took it down) showed two comments where people received a refund. My daughter was in ICU, was that not a good enough reason to cancel?

      As for this happening to us or my husband. I would hope we would respond immediately to criticism, trying to make things right, if possible.

      I do appreciate your comment. I understand that there are two sides to every story. I’ve shared mine as accurately as possible.

  • Liza
    Posted at 06:17h, 24 May Reply

    Sorry to hear about this and hope your child is recovering quickly! It looks like they took down their facebook page.

  • Danica Smith
    Posted at 08:53h, 24 May Reply

    Where’s my comment??? You can’t allow anyone to see my comments on your website??? All I’m saying is there are always TWO SIDES OF A “STORY”, since you called this a ‘story’.

    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 13:50h, 24 May Reply

      Hi Danica,

      I’m happy to post your comment. I’m sorry it took me so long to see this. My comments are moderated because of spam, vulgar language, etc, not because of opinions. Unfortunately I don’t check them that often, but will try to do better so you can share your side. Are you affiliated with the inn? As for my side, I have been as accurate as possible. If I knew how this would turn out, I would have recorded every call I made so I wouldn’t have been accused of lying. I did record the call I made yesterday, though the people at the inn were not happy about it. I don’t think they would like me to post the conversation. I haven’t decided, yet, if I will.

      In any case, thank you for your comment.


  • Sally
    Posted at 21:07h, 26 May Reply

    How can you even be a WORRIED mother? This coming from a RESPONSILBE mother that has 3 children and had 1 of them in ICU in the BURN UNIT for weeks.

    He made it but his Buddy DIED. We could not even read and comprehend the trashy magazines in the hospital or ANYTHING for weeks afterward.

    AND YOU !!!!! you Had the time to write a blog post…. a website…. and countless hours ASK for HELP to Distroy a business when they did NOT respond to you over a WEEKEND?

    Good GOD. So you WORK 7 DAYS PER WEEK????

    Get real Lady how totally rude. Do you think they could have been taking care of the people at the b & b? Do you think the owner might not had been in the office???

    Wow its time for a FULL Apology to this BUSINESS and all the people that work there..

    AMAZING !!!

    I hope they are Professional enough to accept your apology.

    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 09:42h, 27 May Reply

      Hi Sally,
      Thank you for your comment. I’m sorry you went through such a scary situation with your son and that he lost a friend. That is horrible. We were very fortunate to have only spent a week in the hospital and my daughter seems to be making a full recovery. It was only half of my worst nightmare, I can’t imagine what your friend’s mom must feel.

      I have no intent to destroy a business. I sincerely hope they learn from this. As I’ve said, they still have not called me. I did not write the post until Wednesday, five days after I first called to cancel and only two days before our planned trip. I was not getting a response, so I took an alternative action. A simple call from someone at HideAway in those five days to let me know I didn’t need to worry about the trip right now, would have prevented this and brought much deserved gratitude. They also could have responded after the post. They haven’t.

      I still hope things will get resolved. My phone, Facebook, Twitter and blog are all open and I’m listening. Are they?

  • Sally
    Posted at 05:57h, 28 May Reply


    Wow again you raddled and did not answer my questions!!!
    Maybe I should contact your employer.

    Grow up you spoiled brat.

    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 09:32h, 28 May Reply

      Hi Sally,
      I’m sorry I didn’t answer your questions.

      “How can you even be a WORRIED mother?”
      I was very worried. It was the worst week of my life.

      “you Had the time to write a blog post…. a website…. and countless hours ASK for HELP to Distroy a business when they did NOT respond to you over a WEEKEND?”
      I wrote a blog post the day after we got home, waiting Friday through Wednesday for a response from the business. I have yet to hear from them.

      “Good GOD. So you WORK 7 DAYS PER WEEK????”
      I often work 7 days a week. It’s the nature of my business.

      “Do you think they could have been taking care of the people at the b & b?”
      Yes. I would also think they would want to take care of future customers.

      “Do you think the owner might not had been in the office???”
      The owner had plenty of time to call me or designate someone to call me.

      Thank you for your comments.

  • Sally
    Posted at 10:11h, 28 May Reply

    So what happened if this was an airline ticket? Or a parking ticket?

    So you think a gift certificate was not good enough?

    It will be incredible to see how your handle a reprimand from the ethics of your employer.

    That’s probably why you can NOT keep a job.

    Did you get a call back from the CEO of MCDonalds when you did not get what you ordered.

    Way should you have exections to rules and policies?

    Spoiled brat yep. I think I will contact several of your “clients”

    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 12:42h, 28 May Reply

      Hi Sally,

      To clarify, I was not offered a gift certificate. The fourth time I called the B&B, I was offered a three-year extension to reschedule. At that point, I declined and simply asked for a refund of our deposit.

      Furthermore, my husband and I were not given and still haven’t seen the cancellation policy. That is a violation of consumer laws.

      Again, thank you for your comments. I’m sorry you are so upset about this situation. I’ve been pretty distraught myself.


  • Nicki
    Posted at 21:02h, 28 May Reply

    Good work Amanda! Also I am impressed how you handle the unnecessary personal insults leveled at you on this site. Amanda is correct about violation of consumer laws.

    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 21:10h, 28 May Reply

      Thanks, Nicki! While I can’t say I enjoy posting negative comments about me on my blog, I want to be completely transparent.

  • Steve
    Posted at 23:25h, 28 May Reply

    Sally if anyone should feel ashamed, you should. If you would like to compare to a airline allow me to share my story.
    My family had schedualed a vacation in SC so that we could have one last family vaca before my ailing father passed. He passed away 2 days before we were to fly out. They have the same cancellation policy as this small business. After we made a few calls they we sympathetic to our situation and asked us to supply some documentation then they refunded our money.

    There is something to be said for decency and sympathy in difficult times. Sally, as someone who had a child in the ICU, if this problem had happened to you, maybe you would have a different response. How dare you make a make comments about the responsiblity of a person or call someone a spoiled brat you do NOT know. Shame on you! Any business that takes this approach towards a customer in extreme circumstances such as Amandas and does not try to help in some way, deserves the flak they are recieving. This should have been a no brainer on the owners part.

    P.S. You probably hate puppies also.

  • Sally
    Posted at 23:48h, 28 May Reply

    So you think you should be exempt of all rules???
    Wow how about your husbands business. I think I will contact them too.
    If you can not follow simple policies. Why should he? Amazing???

    What you did post private information and asking what you did was unbelievable.

    I think I will post reviews and get my friends to post anything against you and your husband just because it is my freedom of speech.

    Still amazed that you had “all the time on the world to post web page … Blog… And several hours of Facebook.

    So who was actually taking care of the sick kid???

    Obviously it was not YOU!!!

    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 08:37h, 29 May Reply

      I still have not seen your cancellation policy. Do you mind sending it to me?

      The email address you left on my blog apparently doesn’t work. I wanted to send you the page where I found your name and number through some quick Googling. I posted, simply asking that if someone knew you they might appeal to your sympathetic side.

      So sorry for this unfortunate situation. My phone, email, Facebook, Twitter and blog are always open. I would love a resolution.

  • Sally
    Posted at 07:05h, 29 May Reply

    You made comments about a business you never been to. Worst yet you asked your fronds to They had NOT been there either. Just because you think you are the exception to ANY rules.


    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 09:25h, 30 May Reply

      Hi Sally,

      I haven’t heard back from you since I asked about sending me the cancellation policy. Do you mind sending it to me via email?


  • Megan
    Posted at 22:46h, 29 May Reply

    I am a neutral party to this case, came across the story through a chain of forwarded statuses. I have never been in the situation Amanda has been in (thank God) but any business that thrives will always do their best to satisfy customers. I have seen many airlines offer travel vouchers for situations such as this. I don’t think it would have too much to ask to offer a gift certificate on the FIRST call, or even offer a refund of the deposit. However, I can understand why a company would be hesitant to refund a deposit without proof of the circumstances, it sounds as though there was no real attempt to rectify the situation on the first call. Every company I have ever worked with (customer service positions) have all had the same motto regarding customer service “one call resolution.” I understand that this can not always happen, especially in situations such as these where a manager or owner can be available immediately. However, an honest attempt to contact Amanda or her husband to resolve the situation should have been a priority. She should never have had to call multiple times to get a return call. One of the best ways to grow a business is to have “word of mouth” marketing. Having clients that only have positive things to say will suggest the business to their friends, creating more business opportunities. The first step in that is having outstanding customer service and creating a personal and meaningful relationship with clients. Sure, Amanda never stayed there, and thanks to this business she never will. And like she said, when she could have given a positive review, she had to give a negative one because of the lack of compassion and concern for a potential customer.

    Amanda, I am glad to hear that your sweet baby will make a full recovery, and hopefully you will never have to deal with a situation like this again. How scary that must have been!

    To all of the people that have judged Amanda’s parenting or care for her child, like everyone else has said, Karma will come around to you. It is ridiculous to criticize someone’s parenting when you have no idea about it. Do you realize the amount of medical bills that this couple will be responsible for after this situation? The economy is bad these days and it seems as though every body has to stretch their dollar. Even when we are in stressful situations, financials still have to be dealt with. They do not go away and cannot be ignored. This company could have alleviated them from one more financial obligation and eased a small amount of stress. Shame on this company.

    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 09:17h, 30 May Reply

      Thank you for your comment, Megan!

  • Megan
    Posted at 23:04h, 29 May Reply

    I apologize, it should read “when a manager or owner CANNOT be available immediately”

  • Mel
    Posted at 12:56h, 30 May Reply

    @Sally, I’m just kind of curious as to how telling your friends about a particular dealing with a company is vindictive? Isn’t word of mouth the oldest form of marketing? Don’t you tell your friends about good or bad service you receive? Everyone does. Everyone! Social Marketing just makes that easier and gives all consumers a bigger audience. Smart business owners realize this!

    I’m also confused as to how you justify NOT offering to waive the cancellation fee, when Mrs. Ford cancelled in advance and didn’t no show. (A No-Show charge, I could totally understand!) But, You had plenty of time to resell the room on a busy holiday weekend. The property lost nothing. In fact, I’m curious if the room indeed did sell. If it did, the business not only received revenue from the cancellation, but also revenue from the room reselling. That is greedy!

    Hospitably 101: It’s easier to keep a guest, than to find a new one. This B&B completely misses the point.

    The hotel management of this property is incapable of accepting responsibility for their guest satisfaction. As you read review after review, you see the owner refusing to take responsibility. It’s glaringly obvious.

    It blows my mind, in this economy, that a business is so confident in their services that they are willing to lose business over this, willing to turn potential guests away.

    The message that this hotel sends to it’s community is 1) We don’t care about you and 2) We don’t really need you. That’s rather bold in such an industry where business relies on guests!

    Best of luck to you, Ford family. I am so happy to hear your baby is doing much better. I sincerely hope the B&B eventually realize that THEY are hurting their own business, not you.

  • Lindsey
    Posted at 14:10h, 30 May Reply

    I think that Hideaway Country Inn should take Amanda’s advice and turn their negative attention into potential customers. They are receiving free business advice that is smart and true! If I were them I would take the advice, make this situation right and use this advice in the future.

    I use Trip Advisor and social media for any getaway that I book. Amanda’s experience with this small business does not suprise me. Looking at the history with Trip Advisor 99 people rated this place between “very good” and “excellent” while 78 people rated it anywhere from “average” to “terrible” with the rating “terrible” making up 45 of those reviews. Basically, every other person has a bad experience. I would not take my chances with this business. If I wanted to gamble with my money I would go to the casino!

  • Joshua
    Posted at 12:56h, 23 June Reply

    I use to work at the Hideaway Country Inn back in October and that lasted for about a month. Debbie Miller (Owner) Is a penny-pincher who will cut any corner she can to save a quick buck ! Even if that means disregarding and even hurting other peoples feelings !

  • Stephanie
    Posted at 15:03h, 24 July Reply

    I just came across this thread over a year later obviously and had to read. I’m a local of bucyrus and its a well known fact that Debbie Miller is one of the biggest liars in the county. The sheriff’s department is frequently freaking with her as she screws countless people out of money with unauthorized charges to people’s credit cards. Her own children don’t even like her. And the whole reason I had to comment being that “sally”has a very similar story as Debbie Miller as her son too was burnt and lost a friend. But that is no surprise either as it’s also thought that any positive review written comes from Debbie herself. I wouldn’t let my worst enemy stay or eat at the hideaway or deal with her

    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 15:20h, 13 August Reply

      Thanks for the comment Stephanie. It was a terribly unfortunate situation. I still hold out hope that Debbie might learn from this and other complaints. Take care!

  • Katie C
    Posted at 23:14h, 28 September Reply


    I just came across your blog after posting my own review on yelp and reading others. I agree with most of what I’m seeing in reviews regarding the owner and how she treats her customers. I also will bet that “Sally” is really Debbie. It’s obvious with her horrible punctuation and the way she capitalizes certain words. I’ve seen the same format in email correspondences with her. I am amazed that she has been allowed to rip people off for this long, and amazed that her business still exists. I wish I had researched more before attempting to stay there, myself. She’s even making up stories about my husband and me! I feel very bad that you had such an awful situation and that she was so heartless to you. “Sally” is being very malicious. I expect the same from Debbie Miller. I want to stop her from getting away with this type of behavior. All of the negative reviews are similar. I’ve found reviews she wrote about her own business on certain websites. Funny. Maybe she’s paying her employees to write the positive reviews, hence those being the only ones that exist… or those are more aliases she has come up with. Obviously, this has been going on for so long that she will never learn her lesson. Buckle up, this could get interesting 🙂

    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 07:48h, 29 September Reply

      Hi Katie,

      I’m sorry you had to go through this, too. Fortunately, our daughter is doing fine now and our credit card company also refunded our deposit after a couple months. If you paid by credit card, have you looked into this route?

      It sounds like the owner has not changed much, if there is anything I can do to help, please let me know.


  • MartyC
    Posted at 23:31h, 28 September Reply

    Look at Sally’s post May 26th 2013. Notice her punctuation and capitalization, not to mention how defensve she gets. I recently had a similar situation where my wife and I above had to check out early shortly after checking in due to an emergency. Our emergency was our own, and we had a similar situation. We checked out an hour or so after arriving, and only asked for the amenities we did not receive refunded. We understood we would be subject to room rates for 3 Days. Instead of a little under $900, we are being taken for about $1500 a deposit for out honeymoon 9/7/14 of $500 and checked in and out with a bill of $1000+. After a week of no returned calls from Debbie Miller, but mysteriously answered emails for only a week, we contacted Chris Elliott an investigative reporter. Here’s her email below. Notice the similarity of Debbie Miller’s email to Mr. Elliott compared to Sally’s very similar rants. Let us know how we can help.

    Mr and Mrs Collins
    RE – Booked their stay with in our cancellation period from February. We TRIED to help them out ! by moving their reservation FROM February with out any penalty. They Cancelled the original reservation the day before. Said they had an EMERGENCY THEN.

    They knew the cancellation policy before staying. Several Email Confirmations, including a confirmation 3 days prior to staying.

    Thus they came early over 2 hours before check in ( with out any extra early check in fees) and stayed over 1 hour, then checked out. ONLY after calling the front desk repeated asking about the cancellation policy. AT NO time did they share what the EMERGENCY was.

    They told the Chef that they knew of an emergency in a phone call after the day they were here.. but what they did not do, was ACT like it was a TRUE emergency. We have been in business for over 24 years, actually 25 years as of February, 2015.

    Heres the thing,ANYONE that has a truthful emergency show signs physically. They share lots of details. Voice usually quivers.


    They called the Office and asked the cancellation policy BEFORE telling us they had to leave. Several times per emails. ONLY once per employees on staff at the night.

    Here’s the DEAL, they went through a LOT of effort to try to get their money back.

    They KNEW AHEAD of time. They signed an agreement UPON check in.

    WE could NOT re-rent the SUITE. PLUS they had a huge package, with people schedule to execute everything they ordered.

    The other reviews are from a former employee that embezzled over 250K from us, and Sent the Reviews across country. FBI has the documentation, and is trying to locate him. his NAME is Leonard Michael Thompson. CHEF.

    Debbie Miller

    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 07:52h, 29 September Reply

      Hi Marty,

      Yes, that sounds like a similar style to Sally. I’m sorry for your horrible experience, too.
      I haven’t corresponded in some time with Debbie or Hideaway Inn, though if I can help you, let me know.


  • MartyC
    Posted at 20:40h, 29 September Reply

    Awesome Amanda, and I’m glad you got your money back. By the way in the story above I forgot to mention we never had a previous reservation that was cancelled. This was our first and of course last reservation. I’m not sure where she is getting this, but I saw similar stories on Tripadvisor followed by her negative comments. Either she has us mixed up with another guest or she is making things up. We are glad we found this site and her similar rants onother sites. It has put her character in perspective,and no one should be treated in this manner and allowed to stay in business.

    • Amanda R Ford
      Posted at 09:13h, 03 October Reply

      It is amazing how someone in a service industry has been able to stay in business so long with so many similar disputes. Best of luck to you and let me know if I can help in any way.

  • Raven
    Posted at 10:08h, 10 November Reply

    Found this through http://www.elliott.org where he’s writing a story about a similar problem with this same inn. Sounds like “Sally” is an insane innkeep who needs to be locked up.

    I hope you take her to small claims court and get your money back.

  • dan h
    Posted at 19:35h, 11 December Reply

    I surprised my wife for our 5 year anniversary. We checked in and started to relax when I saw to MICE run across the floor. They gave us a gift certificate to come back for another time and gave us directions to the Holiday Inn. There isn’t a lot to do in that area so I called to see if they could refund my money instead. The owner and her gm said sure. I didn’t receive my money and called again. Was told the same thing. This happened 5 times, until the owner called me back. She said that none of her employees would have said that and accused me of lying about the mice. She said in her lovely tone of voice that she would get back to me. So basically I’m out the 252$ from her mouse infested hotel and the $180 for the Holiday Inn.

Post A Comment